A Little Rant….and Ramble….

Tomorrow we see the inauguration of Donald Trump as President of the USA.

I have to admit, I never thought he would win.  It still seems a bit surreal, but then many things have happened in the last few years that have seemed impossible to be true.

The tories got back into power, england voted for brexit ( note that I said england!), trump won that election, yeah some things in this world have gone mad !!

It is a scary thought that someone like Trump will have his finger on the nuclear button for the next four years.  Could this be the beginning of the end of the world?  One press on that button and that’s what would happen.  I don’t think everyone understands that the nuclear winter that would follow the use of nuclear weapons in war would kill practically everyone in the world over time.  Yes, some would live a while, eventually dying from radiation sickness, which I have read is a terrible way to go!!

I wonder if that was why the dinosaurs died out?  One of them created a nuclear bomb and tried it out……..!

Seriously though, I think the next few years will be interesting, and possibly disturbing, for society in general.

If the world does survive, these times are history making, our generation will at least be remembered in years to come.  Though I wonder what our great-great-great grandchildren will think of us all and the decisions we are making.

What would our ancestors say if they could come to the present day and see where the world is now?  I doubt they would recognise most of the issues we face on a day to day basis.  Was life simpler back then?

Sometimes I wish I could go back to a simpler time.  Or go to live on some remote island with just my family around me.

Work some land and animals to feed everyone.  Not worry about who was bombing who in the world, or who was demanding the next tax from us to pay the wages of someone in ‘power’ who is supposed to know what is best for us.

I remember a programme in 2000 on BBC called Castaway.  A number of people were sent to the Scottish island of Taransay to live for a year and build a community and support each other.  Right now, that sounds like heaven to me.  It was a very interesting experiment.

I need to win the lottery and buy an island somewhere I think………….

Leave a Reply

