War

There was an article on the television news tonight about today being the hundred year anniversary of the last day of the Somme, in WW1.

So many people died in that hell hole.  One single battle that lasted 161 days and gained practically no territory.

War is such a waste.  Of lives, of time, of money.

What does it achieve, to go to another country and kill a bunch of other people?

As human beings, we should be able to sit down and work out our problems in a more sensible way.  Don’t we all teach our children that violence is not the answer to anything?  I know that is how I bring my own children up.  Yet on the news, they see the people in charge of our countries fighting and killing others, just to get their own way.

I am a pacifist, as you can probably guess.  I hate war, I hate weapons of war.

I do respect the people who died in the great war.  They went to war without as much information as we have today.  They only had the government’s propaganda to listen to and they believed that there was no other way than to go to war.  They fought for their King and country, and deserve to be remembered as brave men.

If it were to come to the same thing again, I wonder how many in modern society would be willing to volunteer to go to an almost certain death to defend their country?

Equally I hope we never get to that stage again.  Mostly because WW3 will be very short.  Some idiot with their finger on a red button will press it and set off a nuclear weapon and as a result, everyone in the world will die.  Well everyone except the select few who have access to bunkers!!

We should remember the thousands who died at the Battle of the Somme.  We should remember how little was achieved by their deaths and learn from that.  Learn how wasteful war is and how we should avoid it ever happening again.  Unfortunately, I doubt that the people who need to learn that, will do.

And that truly saddens me.  I do not want my children growing up seeing war in the world around us, I want them to learn that violence of any description, is wrong.  Most of all, I want them to live, not to be destroyed in some stupid arguments between ‘governments’.

In remembrance of today and the sacrifice of all those men at the Somme, the best thing that this world could do would be to agree to a world peace.  I know it will not happen, but I can live in hope, can’t I????

Leave a Reply

