Referendum

Tomorrow Great Britiain goes to the polls on a very important issue.  My greatest wish is that whichever way the vote goes, the country can pull itself together afterwards and find the best way forward for everyone who lives here, particularly the next generation, and the one after that, and the one after that.

I just watched Sheila Hancock talking on c4’s debate about how she came through the war and the creation of the EU.  She talked of hating the Germans, of how many were killed and what an outlandish idea it initially was when Europe tried to come together to make a better future instead of killing each other.  But it has worked out well, I think.  Yes, we attack other countries (which I do not agree with), but we work together instead of fighting between us, that’s gotta be a good thing, right?

Personally I am voting to remain, I think we are safer to stay part of the larger European community, than to pull out and stand alone.  I am not saying that Britain could not stand on it’s own two feet, but I feel at this precise point in time that we are better off standing alongside our neighbours.

I am also thinking of the future for my children.  I feel there will be more future job prospects for them if we stay, more choices for them and more safety.  As the saying goes, safety in numbers.

But whatever happens tomorrow, and whichever way you vote, I hope this country finds a happy, safe and secure way forward, into the future.  For me, I will just be glad to end the neverending mudslinging from both sides and get back to watching something different on the news!!

Leave a Reply

